Champion heavyweight, Alistair Gunn, Halkirk, pictured at this year’s Durness games.


More photos

AUGUST 2001 - NO. 118

Attendance up at Durness

A little mist and a few drops of rain was not enough to dampen spirits at last week’s Durness Highland Gathering. The turnout, better than last year, surprised many. A number of keenly fought competitions were staged and Dornoch athlete Ian Ross bettered his own light hammer record of 93ft. 6in. with a mighty throw of 98ft. 2in.

Echoing what his many friends must have felt, chairman Iris Mackay said she was particularly pleased to see games president and 2000 chieftain Billy Morrison, Lerin, present and able to carry out his duties after his recent illness.

Trophy winners were as follows:-


Robert Morrison Junior Trophy - (under 15) Catherine MacLennan, Blairbuie, Achiltibuie ; (15-18) Claire Lynas, Livingston.
J & J Mather Memorial Shield (confined to North West Sutherland) - Joanne Shaw, Strathnaver.
Hugh Mackay Cup (under 18, confined to Sutherland) - Joanne Shaw.
Lewis Cup (for professional pipers) - Niall Matheson, Inverness.
Andrew Mackay Gunn Memorial Trophy (for piobaireachd) - Niall Matheson.
Bank of Scotland Trophy (for most promising piper, confined to Sutherland) - Joanne Shaw.

Dewar Trophy (12 and under) - Kerry Banks, Wick.
Sandeman Cup (13-15 years) - Tanya Horne, Wick.
Julia Mackenzie Trophy (12 and under) - No winner.
Caberfeidh Cup (16 and over) - Darra Wood, Tain.

Cape Wrath Hotel Cup (for open track events) - Brett Atkins, Lybster.
Rispond Trophy (for open heavy events) - Alistair Gunn, Halkirk.
McCoubrey Trophy (for heavy events, confined) - Hugh MacLellan, Laid, and Ian Ross, Dornoch.
“Keep Fit” Trophies (for best senior male and female athlete from parish of Durness) - Paul Mackay.
Marjory Campbell Shield (for girls and boys, 16-18, open) - Janet Roberts, Durness.
Fergusson Cup (for boys, 16-18, confined to county of Sutherland) - David Bruce, Durness.
Kinloch Shield (for girls, 12-16, confined to Sutherland) - Lisa Duncan, Brora.
Burton Cup (for boys, 12-16, confined to Sutherland) - David Coghill, Tongue, and Dwane Lyon, Golspie.
Anne, Duchess of Westminster Cup (for girls under 12 from parish of Durness) - Ashley Milne and Nicola Morrison.
Montgomery Cup (for boys under 12, confined to parish of Durness) - David Corbett.
Haig Tankard (for hill race) - Onno Verberre, Norway.
Ridgeway Trophy (for hill race, 35 years and over) - Onno Verberre.
Marie Christine Ridgeway Trophy (for ladies hill race, confined to Durness) - Marie Joergensen, Balnakeil.
Durness Youth Club Trophy (for hill race, boys under 18) - Dwane Lyon, Golspie.
Durness Youth Club Trophy (for hill race, girls under 16) - Eilidh Mackay, Inverness.
“Keep Fit” Trophy (for hill race, confined to Durness) - Robbie Mackay.
Barr Cup for overall champion from the parish of Durness) - Paul Mackay.
Carrie Cup (for senior champion in open athletics) - Alistair Gunn.

Return to INDEX