Airborne Divisions


In 1943, a British infantry division comprised two infantry brigades, each of three infantry battalions, and a tank brigade. Artillery support came from three field regiments, an anti-tank regiment and a light anti-aircraft regiment. In addition, personnel from Royal Signals, Royal Engineers, Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, Royal Army Service Corps, Royal Army Ordnance Corps, Royal Army Medical Corps, Corps of Military Police and Intelligence Corps gave support through their own expertise and equipment.

The two Airborne Divisions, intended to parallel the work of their infantry division counterpart, had, in addition to two parachute brigades, an airlanding brigade. This combined infantry, artillery, reconnaissance and support units:



1st Airborne

6th Airborne


    1st Parachute Brigade

    4th Parachute Brigade

    21st Independent Parachute Company

    No. 16  Parachute Field Ambulance RAMC

    No. 133 Parachute Field Ambulance RAMC

    3rd Parachute Brigade

    5th Parachute Brigade

    22nd Independent Parachute Company

    224th Parachute Field Ambulance RAMC

    225th Parachute Field Ambulance RAMC


Infantry, Artillery and Reconnaissance


1st Airborne

6th Airborne


     1st Battalion The Border Regiment

     7th Battalion King’s Own Scottish Borderers

     2nd Battalion The South Staffordshire  Regiment


    12th Battalion The Devonshire Regiment

    2nd Battalion The Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Infantry

    1st Battalion The Royal Ulster Rifles




    1st Airlanding Light Regiment

    1st Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery

    2nd Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery

    Anti-Aircraft support was added to the Recce Squadron

    No. 1 Forward Observer Unit


     53rd (Worcestershire Yeomanry) Airlanding Light Regiment

    3rd Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery

     4th Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery

    2nd Airlanding Light Anti-Aircraft Battery (was converted to anti-tank in January 1945 and redesignated 6th Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery)

    No. 2 Forward Observation Unit





    1st Airborne Reconnaissance Squadron

    Airborne Armoured Reconnaissance Regiment



Royal Signals

Airborne Divisional Signals

Airborne Divisional Signals


Royal Engineers


9th Field Company

26th Field Park Company



249th Field Company

286th Field Park Company


Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers


1st Airborne Division Workshop



6th Airborne Division Workshop



Royal Army Service Corps


250th Light Composite Company

93rd Composite Company



716th Light Composite Company

398th Composite Company


Royal Army Ordnance Corps



1st Airborne Division Ordnance Field Park


6th Airborne Division Ordnance Field Park


Royal Army Medical Corps



181st Airlanding Field Ambulance


195th Airlanding Field Ambulance



Corps of Military Police



1 st Airborne Divisional Provost Company


6th Airborne Divisional Provost Company


Intelligence Corps


89 th Parachute Field Security Section



317 th Field Security Section (Airborne)