Ultimate Wigan Athletic Website

Information About Your Favourite Team

[Club Badge]

Founded: 1932 following the demise of Wigan Borough FC

Ground: DW Stadium (formerly JJB Stadium), Wigan - Capacity 25,135
Phone Number: 01942 774000
Commercial Dept: 01942 770400
Ticket Hotline: 0871 66 33 552

I have set up a picture gallery so that you can see pictures of our old home, Springfield Park and a page of photos of the DW Stadium.

Who's Who at the Club:
ChairmanDavid Whelan
Vice ChairmanPhilip Williams
Chief ExecutiveBrenda Spencer
DirectorsBrian Ashcroft
Maurice Lindsay
John Winstanley
ManagerRoberto Martínez
Assistant ManagerGraeme Jones
First Team CoachGraham Barrow
Goalkeeping CoachIñaki Bergara
Head of PhysiotherapyRichie Evans
First Team PhysiotherapistsAlex Cribley and Neil Fitzhenry
Chief ScoutKevin Reeves
General ManagerJohn Benson
Football SecretaryStuart Hayton
Sales DirectorAntony Clark
Head of MediaEd Jones
Commercial DirectorPaul Hunt
JJB Stadium ManagerAlan Sumner
JJB Stadium Safety OfficerRay Johnston
Club DoctorDr Mike Ashworth
Head GroundsmanIan Forshaw

Club colours 2010/11: Blue shirts with a broad white stripe to the left; blue shorts; white socks
[Second kit 2010/11: All black with gold trim]

[2010 kit]
The 2010/11 First kit
The 2009/10 Change kit

To see earlier kits in the League CLICK HERE

League Cup Finalists 2005-6
Northern Premier League Champions 1970-1, 1974-5
Northern Premier Cup Winners 1971-2
Northern Premier Shield Winners 1972-3, 1973-4, 1975-6
Cheshire League Champions 1933-4, 1934-5, 1935-6, 1964-5
Lancashire Combination Champions 1947-8, 1950-1, 1952-3, 1953-4
Elected to Football League 1978
First League Game August 1978
Promoted to Third Division 1981-2
FA Cup Best Season 6th Round 1986-7
Freight Rover Trophy Winners 1984-5
Third Division Champions 1996-7
Autowindscreens Shield Winners 1998-9
Second Division Champions 2002-3
Promoted to the Premier League as Championship runners-up 2005
Highest position in Premier League 10th 2005-6

[Into the Premiership]
Into the Premiership after beating Reading in 2005

The Latics team of 2002/2003 celebrate winning the championship of the Second Division
(photo copyright www.barnsleyphotos.co.uk)

Isy Diaz, Springy and Roberto Martinez celebrate the success of the 1997 campaign

[AutoWindscreens 1999]
The team get together at Wembley in 1999 after winning the AutoWindscreens Shield
At the time this represented success and meant a lot to us
We will not forget our roots

Biggest League Victory: 7-1 v Scarborough, Div 3, 11 Mar 1997
Biggest Defeat:1-9 v Tottenham Hotspur, Premier League, 22 Nov 2009
Most Appearances: 621 Ian Gillibrand
Most Consecutive League Appearances:147 Jimmy Bullard - between January 2003 and November 2005
Most League Appearances:317 Kevin Langley
Most League Goals in aggregate:70 Andy Liddell
Highest Attendance: 27,526 v Hereford United, FA Cup, 12 Dec 1953
Highest Attendance at JJB: 25,133 v Man United, Premier League, 11 May 2008
Most Points in a season: 100 (2002-2003) Division 2
Most League Goals in one season: 84 (1996-1997) Division 3
Most League Goals by one player: 31 Graeme Jones (1996-1997)
Record Transfer Fee Paid£6.5 million to Newcastle United for Charles N'Zogbia, 2009
Record Transfer Fee Received£ 16 million from Manchester United for Luis Antonio Valencia, 2009

Colours in the Football League:See drawings of the kits HERE
1978-1982 Blue and white stripes, blue shorts, white socks
1982-1985 All blue
1985-1986 All blue with white hoop
1986-1988 White shirts with blue shoulder-facings, blue shorts and socks
1988-1989 Blue and white diagonally halved shirts, white shorts, blue socks
1989-1991 Blue shirts, white shorts, blue socks
1991-1993 All blue
1993-1994 Blue and black stripes, black shorts, blue socks
1994-1995 Blue and black stripes, black shorts, black socks with blue tops
1995-1998 White shirts with broad blue and green stripe, blue shorts, blue and white hooped socks
1998-2000 All blue with white stripe down both sides
2000-2002 All blue with white trim and green band
2002-2003 Blue shirts with white stripe down sides, blue shorts, white socks
2003-2005 Blue shirts with white pinstripes, blue shorts, white socks
2005-2006 Blue and white stripes, blue shorts, white socks
2006-2007 Blue shirts with white shoulder panels and side stripe, blue shorts, white socks
2007-2010 Blue and white stripes with blue sleeves, blue shorts, white socks
2010 to date Blue shirts with white stripe to left, blue shorts, white socks

Managers in the Football League:
1978-1981 Ian McNeill
1981-1983 Larry Lloyd
1983-1985 Harry McNally
1985-1986 Bryan Hamilton
1986-1989 Ray Mathias
1989-1993 Bryan Hamilton
1993 Dave Philpotts
1993-1994 Kenny Swain
1994-1995 Graham Barrow
1995-1998 John Deehan
1998-1999 Ray Mathias
1999-2000 John Benson
2000-2001 Bruce Rioch
2001 Steve Bruce
2001-2007 Paul Jewell
2007 Chris Hutchings
2007-2009 Steve Bruce
2009 to date Roberto Martinez

Club Sponsors: Wigan Athletic are sponsored by 188Bet.

188Bet LOGO